Selection Commitee

The CSL Centenary Fellowships are overseen by a five-person Selection Committee, comprising both independent members (including the Chairman) and CSL representatives.

Chair - Professor Ashley Dunn FAA

Professor Ashley Dunn received his PhD from the University of Birmingham, UK, and undertook postdoctoral studies at Cold Spring Harbor, USA and at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg, Germany. In 1982, he took up a position as Head of the Molecular Biology Program at the Melbourne Branch of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research.

Professor Dunn was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1996, served as Associate Director of the Ludwig Institute until 2004 and is currently an Honorary of the Department of Surgery at the University of Melbourne. Professor Dunn is now a science consultant and serves on a number of Boards and Advisory Boards within academia and the biotechnology sector.

Professor Carola Vinuesa

Professor Carola Vinuesa was born in Spain and obtained a medical degree at the University Autonoma of Madrid. She undertook specialist clinical training in the UK and in 2000 was awarded a PhD by the University of Birmingham. As the recipient of a Wellcome Trust International Travelling prize Fellowship, she did postdoctoral work at The John Curtin School for Medical Research (The Australian National University, ANU).

Since 2006 she has been leading the Humoral Immunity and Autoimmunity Group at ANU first supported by a Viertel Senior Medical Research Fellowship and currently by an Elizabeth Blackburn NHMRC fellowship. She has won several prizes including the 2008 Science Minister’s Prize (Life Scientist of the year), the 2009 Gottschalk Medal of the Australian Academy of Sciences, the inaugural CSL-Young Florey Medal and the 2015 Ramaciotti Medal for Excellence in Biomedical Research. In 2015 she was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. She is currently Professor of Immunology at the ANU and Head of the Immunology and Infectious Disease Department. Since its launch in 2014, Carola is joint Director of the Centre for Personalised Immunology (an NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence) that aims to dissect the genetic, molecular and cellular pathogenesis of immune disease in individual patients with the goal of improving diagnoses and identifying targeted therapies.

Professor Stephen Jane

Professor Stephen Jane completed his medical degree at Monash University. He entered the physician training program at the Alfred, completing clinical/laboratory haematology and a PhD. He then spent five years in the USA, the first three as a postdoctoral fellow at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, and the remainder on the faculty at St Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee. He returned to Australia in 1995 as a Wellcome Senior Research Fellow to the University of Melbourne at the Bone Marrow Research Laboratories in the Royal Melbourne Hospital. He became Director of the laboratories in 2000, a Principal Research Fellow of the NHMRC in 2005 and a Professor of Medicine at University of Melbourne in 2006.

Professor Jane was appointed as the Head of Central Clinical School, Professor of Medicine, Monash University and Director of Research for Alfred Hospital in 2011. He is a member of the Clinical Haematology Service. In 2014 he was elected to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.

Dr Andrew Nash (CSL)

Dr Andrew Nash is the Senior Vice President, Research at CSL. Dr Nash completed his PhD in Immunology at The University of Melbourne in 1988 and, after moving to the Centre for Animal Biotechnology in the Faculty of Veterinary Science, developed and led a research group focused on basic and applied aspects of cytokine biology.

In 1996 he joined the ASX listed biotechnology company Zenyth Therapeutics (then Amrad Corporation) as a senior scientist and subsequently held a number of positions including Director of Biologicals Research and Chief Scientific Officer.

In July of 2005 he was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Zenyth, a position which he held up until the acquisition of Zenyth by CSL Limited in November 2006. Following the acquisition he was appointed as CSL’s SVP, Research and is currently based at the Bio21 Institute where he leads a large global effort focused on the discovery and development of new protein-based medicines to treat serious human disease.

Dr Andrea Douglas (CSL)

Dr Andrea Douglas is the Vice President, R&D Strategy and External Affairs at CSL Limited, located at CSL’s headquarters in Parkville, Australia. Andrea oversees the global R&D strategy, product portfolio and R&D investment and prioritisation processes and is responsible for relationships with external stakeholders in the Australian Medical and Translational Research environment. Andrea also leads the Government Affairs Strategy in Australia.

Before joining CSL Andrea was the CEO of the Gene CRC. She also held a senior research role at WEHI where she studied the molecular biology of breast cancer. Andrea has a PhD degree in Forensic Medicine from Monash University. She also holds a Masters degree in Health Administration and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.